Community . India (Punjab) . Archeological Excavations . Protected Monuments

Protected Monuments

Since 1970 to date 56 ancient and historic sites have been declared Protected Monuments by the Punjab Government ; Government of India had separately protected 30 sites. Among them are kos minars (small towers that marked ancient roads), sarais, palaces,temples, tombs and forts.

Some of the better known of these are:

Sheesh Mahal and Quila Mubarak at Patiala, Aam Khas Bagh
at Sirhind, Maharaja Ranjit Singh's summer palace at Amritsar, Dewan Khana and Marble Baradari at Sangrur, Mughal serais at Shambhu and Doraha, the tombs of Ustaad and Shagird at village Talania in Fatehgarh Sahib District, Dera Mian Meer at Sirhind, Masjid Bhagat Sadna Qasai at Sirhind, the Moorish Masjid, Kapurthala, the ancestral home of Lala Lajpat Rai at Jagraon and Shaheed Bhagat Singh at Khatkar Kalan.

The text and images in this section are from the Archives of the Punjab Government.
Punjab Govt. , Plot No. 3, sector 38, Chandigarh. Telephone Nos : 0091-172-694889, 0091-172-694997








Translate: Français | Italiano | Español | Português | Deutsch | Japenese | Korean| Simplified Chinese

© 1999-2005 | | Terms of use | Privacy | Support | May 14, 2005